Japanese vs. German Kitchen Knives: Steel, Edge Angle, and Named Models Compared

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Ad revenue can influence which products we cover, but the comparison criteria and verdicts are decided independently from official specs and published sources. Read our full disclosure.

Japanese and German kitchen knives are often reduced to a neat contrast: thin, hard, and light versus thick, tough, and heavy. That shorthand can start a conversation, but it does not survive model-level checking. Current German catalogs include comparatively acute sharpening guidance, some Japanese models publish hardness in the same range as German knives, and handle or bolster construction can matter more to balance than a country label.

This article compares 14 named chef’s knives—seven on each side—using manufacturer-published specifications available on September 3, 2026. Steel, HRC, edge angle, weight, and construction appear only when a maker’s official page states them. Where the maker does not publish a field, the table says so rather than filling the gap with retailer data or a national average.

For the broader decision about Japanese blade shapes, handles, and maintenance commitment, begin with the Japanese chef knife buyer’s guide. This comparison has a narrower job: showing where familiar Japanese-versus-German claims hold, overlap, or fail when attached to actual model numbers. It also treats corporate ownership and manufacturing location separately. MIYABI, for example, belongs to the Germany-based ZWILLING group, while the KAIZEN II model below is officially described as handcrafted in Seki, Japan.

Verdict

Choose for the cutting load and maintenance routine, not for a flag. The Japanese-side models in this sample use a wider range of named steels, and several publish hardness around 60–62 HRC. They make sense to examine when controlled cuts through vegetables and boneless proteins matter more than a substantial bolster or frequent honing with a steel.

The German-maker models cluster around 56–58 HRC where hardness is published. Many emphasize forged bolsters, full or concealed tangs, and handles designed around a familiar Western chef-knife grip. They deserve closer attention when you prefer a pronounced handle-and-bolster structure, use a rocking motion, and want the maker to provide a honing-steel routine.

Neither description is universal. Published weights overlap, WÜSTHOF’s sharpening guidance is more acute than the old 20-degree stereotype, and several makers do not disclose a model-specific angle at all. Read the row for the exact knife.

Bar chart comparing published HRC hardness across 14 chef's knife models: the Japanese-side sample ranges from 58 ±1 to 60–62 HRC where stated (KAI, MIYABI, Yaxell; 4 of 7 pages do not state HRC), and the German-maker sample ranges from 56 to 58, or 55–58 HRC where stated (F. DICK, Böker, WÜSTHOF, ZWILLING; only Güde does not state HRC)

What do the steel and HRC numbers actually show?

The named Japanese models show more steel variety, while the German-maker sample is more concentrated around a few stainless formulations. Published HRC values overlap, so hardness does not create a clean national dividing line.

HRC is the Rockwell C hardness value a maker assigns to a heat-treated blade. It is useful for comparing published hardness, but it is not a complete performance score. It does not tell you the edge thickness, blade geometry, sharpening quality, or how the knife will respond to twisting and impact.

On the Japanese side, the official pages name VG-MAX for the Shun Classic DM0706, 6A/1K6 for the KAI Wasabi Black 6720C, VG10 with 13 Chrome Stainless Steel cladding for the TOJIRO F-808, and a molybdenum-and-vanadium cutlery stainless steel for the GLOBAL G-2. The MIYABI KAIZEN II 34681-203 uses an FC61 core with 48 surrounding stainless/damask layers, while the Yaxell RAN 36000 uses a VG10 core in a 69-layer construction. MAC’s MTH-80 product page gives dimensions and weight but does not publish its steel or HRC for that individual model.

The published hardness figures also vary. KAI states 58 ±1 HRC, MIYABI 60–62 HRC, and Yaxell 61 Rockwell. The Shun, TOJIRO, GLOBAL, and MAC individual product pages reviewed here do not state model-specific HRC values. That absence matters: a hardness number associated with a brand or steel elsewhere should not be silently assigned to a particular knife.

The German-maker sample is more concentrated. The F. DICK 1905 81947212 and Böker Core 130740 explicitly name X50CrMoV15. WÜSTHOF calls the steel in its Classic models proprietary “special stainless steel,” while ZWILLING describes the Pro and Four Star blades as special-formula high-carbon stainless steel. Their official hardness figures sit at 56 HRC for F. DICK, 58 HRC for Böker and both WÜSTHOF models, and 55–58 HRC for the two ZWILLING models. The Güde Mikarta M805/21 page states stainless construction but does not publish a grade or HRC.

Published questionJapanese-side sampleGerman-maker sampleHow to read it
Named steelVG-MAX, 6A/1K6, VG10, FC61, and other maker descriptionsX50CrMoV15 plus proprietary WÜSTHOF and ZWILLING stainless steelsA material description, not a quality rank
HRC in the cited product pages58 ±1 to 60–62 where stated56 to 58, or 55–58 ranges, where statedOverlapping model specifications, not a country rule
Disclosure gapsFour of seven product pages omit model-specific HRCGüde M805/21 omits HRC; several omit exact alloy namesDo not substitute retailer or category averages

Compared on September 3, 2026

The practical conclusion is narrower than “harder is superior.” A difference in HRC may affect the maintenance plan, but it cannot replace the maker’s edge geometry and use instructions. GLOBAL’s official page, for example, does not provide an HRC figure that would justify placing it above or below the German models. The honest comparison stops where the official specification stops.

How do the published edge angles differ?

The available model-specific angles do not support a simple 15-degree-Japanese, 20-degree-German rule. Only a few of these product pages publish an angle, and the German guidance overlaps the Japanese figures.

Shun states 16° on each side for the Classic DM0706. MIYABI states a 9.5–12° Honbazuke edge for the KAIZEN II. WÜSTHOF’s Classic product Q&A gives 14.5° at the edge, while WÜSTHOF’s separate care guide tells owners to sharpen standard blades at 14° per side. Those two WÜSTHOF statements are not interchangeable: one appears on a model page and the other is general maintenance guidance.

The product pages reviewed for the KAI 6720C, TOJIRO F-808, GLOBAL G-2, MAC MTH-80, Yaxell RAN 36000, WÜSTHOF Classic Ikon, both ZWILLING models, F. DICK 1905, Böker Core, and Güde M805/21 do not publicly specify a model-specific edge angle. That is not permission to assign a typical figure based on origin.

Chart showing the only 3 of 14 compared knife models with a publicly stated edge angle: MIYABI KAIZEN II at 9.5–12° Honbazuke edge, WÜSTHOF Classic at 14.5° at the edge in its product Q&A, and Shun Classic at 16° each side; 11 of 14 models do not publish a model-specific edge angle

Angle wording also matters. “Per side” identifies one face of a double-bevel edge. A page that gives only an edge angle should not automatically be rewritten as a per-side or inclusive number. When a knife is resharpened, the safest starting point is the exact maker guidance for that knife or line and the bevel already present, not a generic country chart.

This sparse disclosure produces a useful result: factory angle may be important, but it is often a poor first filter because makers publish it inconsistently. Steel, profile, blade length, handle, and the maintenance instructions available for the model may give you a firmer comparison.

What do weight and balance specifications change?

Weight tells you how much knife is in the hand; it does not reveal where that mass sits. Balance must be read together with the tang, bolster, handle, and blade construction.

The Japanese-side pages publish a broad spread: KAI lists 149 g, GLOBAL 170 g, Shun 6.7 oz (190 g), TOJIRO 200 g, MIYABI 0.44 lbs, and MAC 6.5 oz. Yaxell does not publish the RAN 36000’s weight on the cited page. These figures do not form one standard “Japanese weight,” and mixed official units should not be treated as laboratory measurements under one test protocol.

The German-maker figures overlap rather than forming a separate block. ZWILLING lists 0.42 lbs for the Four Star and 0.58 lbs for the Pro. Böker lists 188 g for the Core, and F. DICK lists 0.30 kg for the 1905. WÜSTHOF and Güde do not publish weights on the cited model pages. A Four Star can therefore sit much closer to several Japanese entries than the heavy-German stereotype suggests.

Construction explains why equal mass can feel different. Shun publishes a full composite tang, TOJIRO a full tang with three studs, GLOBAL an all-stainless handle, and MAC a bolstered design. On the German side, WÜSTHOF gives the Classic a full tang and full bolster; ZWILLING gives the Pro a full tang and triple-riveted handle but the Four Star a concealed tang; F. DICK describes a half bolster and steel-ring handle; Böker uses a forged bolster; and Güde uses a full tang with a double bolster.

Those facts describe structure, not a measured balance point. None of the cited pages publishes a center-of-balance distance, so this article does not label individual models blade-heavy or handle-heavy. If balance is the deciding factor, compare the knives in your normal pinch grip. Also separate balance from shape: the cutting motion differences in the santoku, gyuto, and nakiri comparison may matter more than the country category.

Does sharpening differ by country or by knife?

Sharpen the exact edge in front of you, not a national stereotype. The maker’s angle, edge condition, and approved maintenance tool are more useful than “Japanese” or “German” as instructions.

The official guidance does reveal different emphases. Shun distinguishes honing, which realigns a bent edge, from sharpening, which removes material to create a new edge, and tells owners to maintain 16° for both. TOJIRO’s maintenance guide uses a whetstone and tells users of double-bevel knives to hold the blade at about 15° to the stone surface; its separate 45° instruction describes how the knife lies across the stone, not the edge angle. Yoshikin recommends a whetstone designed for stainless products as the primary home method for GLOBAL knives and also lists compatible guided sharpeners.

German makers publish more explicit honing-steel routines in the sources reviewed. WÜSTHOF advises 14° per side for standard blades and separates honing from metal-removing sharpening. ZWILLING tells users to hold a standard knife at about 15° to a honing steel, while its whetstone guide gives a broader 10–20° range. F. DICK’s sharpening-steel instructions give 15–20° and call for alternating equal strokes along the full edge.

That does not mean every Japanese knife belongs only on a stone or every German knife should routinely meet a grooved steel. Shun itself publishes honing guidance, and the German makers also describe whetstone sharpening. The decision is about whether the edge only needs alignment or needs fresh metal removed, and whether the tool suits the blade’s published geometry.

For damaged or normally dulled edges, stone selection is a separate question from country of origin. The whetstone grit progression guide explains when a medium stone is enough, when a coarse repair stone is relevant, and why a finishing stone is optional for many kitchen knives. Preserve the existing bevel unless the maker or a qualified sharpener gives you a reason to reprofile it.

How do the named models compare?

The two tables below are a specification map, not a ranking. “Not publicly specified” means the cited product page did not provide that field when accessed on September 3, 2026.

Japanese-side models

ModelSteel / constructionHRCEdge angleWeight
Shun Classic 8-inch Chef's Knife DM0706VG-MAX; 69-layer Damascus; full composite tangNot publicly specified16° each side6.7 oz (190 g)
KAI Wasabi Black Chef's Knife 6720C6A/1K6 stainless; double-sided edge58 ±1Not publicly specified149 g
TOJIRO CLASSIC Chef Knife 210mm F-808VG10 core; 13 Chrome Stainless Steel; full tangNot publicly specifiedNot publicly specified200 g
GLOBAL G-2 Cook KnifeMolybdenum/vanadium cutlery stainless; 18-8 stainless handleNot publicly specifiedNot publicly specified170 g
MIYABI KAIZEN II 5000FCD 34681-203FC61 core; 48 stainless/damask outer layers60–629.5–12°0.44 lbs
MAC Professional Series MTH-80Model page does not state steel; bolstered, dimpled bladeNot publicly specifiedNot publicly specified6.5 oz
Yaxell RAN Chef's Knife 36000VG10 core; 69-layer stainless construction61 RockwellNot publicly specifiedNot publicly specified

Compared on September 3, 2026

Model pages: Shun DM0706, KAI 6720C, TOJIRO F-808, GLOBAL G-2, MIYABI 34681-203, MAC MTH-80, and Yaxell 36000.

MIYABI is the boundary case. ZWILLING’s official imprint identifies the parent company in Solingen, Germany, but the KAIZEN II product page says the knife is handcrafted in Seki, Japan. The same product page conflicts with itself on tang construction, so the table does not repeat either tang claim.

German-maker models

ModelSteel / constructionHRCEdge angleWeight
WÜSTHOF Classic 8-inch Chef's Knife 1040100120Special stainless steel; forged; full tang and full bolster5814.5° at the edge in product Q&ANot publicly specified
WÜSTHOF Classic Ikon 8-inch Chef's Knife 1040330120Proprietary WÜSTHOF steel; forged58Not publicly specifiedNot publicly specified
ZWILLING Pro 8-inch Chef's Knife 38401-203Special-formula high-carbon stainless; SIGMAFORGE; full tang55–58Not publicly specified0.58 lbs
ZWILLING Four Star 8-inch Chef's Knife 31071-203Special-formula high-carbon stainless; SIGMAFORGE; concealed tang55–58; description also states 57Not publicly specified0.42 lbs
F. DICK 1905 Chef's Knife 81947212X50CrMoV15; forged blade; half bolster56Not publicly specified0.30 kg
Böker Germany Core Chef's Knife 130740X50CrMoV15; hand-forged blade and forged bolster58Not publicly specified188 g
Güde Mikarta Chef's Knife M805/21Stainless; hand-forged and ice-hardenedNot publicly specifiedNot publicly specifiedNot publicly specified

Compared on September 3, 2026

Model pages: WÜSTHOF Classic 1040100120, WÜSTHOF Classic Ikon 1040330120, ZWILLING Pro 38401-203, ZWILLING Four Star 31071-203, F. DICK 1905 81947212, Böker Core 130740, and Güde M805/21.

The German side is limited to makers whose official company pages place their headquarters or corporate address in Germany: WÜSTHOF and ZWILLING in Solingen, F. DICK in Deizisau, Böker in Solingen, and Güde in Solingen. F. DICK’s product page does not state the individual 1905 knife’s manufacturing country, so it is described here as a model from a German-headquartered maker rather than labeled “Made in Germany.”

Which design direction fits your kitchen?

Start with your recurring cuts, preferred grip, and maintenance behavior. Country becomes useful only after those questions narrow the field.

Three questions to ask before choosing by country: what you cut most (vegetables and boneless proteins with push/draw strokes, or a rocking motion), what grip and bolster transition you prefer, and how you plan to maintain the edge; the country label only narrows a shortlist, it doesn't choose the exact knife for you

Examine the Japanese-side models first if your board is dominated by vegetables, herbs, boneless fish, and boneless meat cut with controlled push or draw strokes. In this sample, that route offers more named steel choices and several published HRC figures around 60–62. The tradeoff is not automatic fragility, but a stronger reason to respect the maker’s edge and avoid tasks outside a thin kitchen knife’s intended use.

Examine the German-maker models first if you prefer a substantial forged transition between blade and handle, use a rocking motion, and want detailed honing-steel instructions from the manufacturer. The Classic, Pro, Four Star, 1905, Core, and Güde constructions provide several versions of that idea rather than one uniform German pattern. The Four Star’s concealed tang and lower published weight also show why you should not assume every German knife feels alike.

If you are undecided, choose shape and handle before steel nationality. An 8-inch chef’s knife, compact santoku, and flat-edged nakiri ask for different board space and cutting motions even when their steels share an HRC figure. Then decide whether you will hone regularly, learn stone sharpening, or use a professional service.

For an in-person purchase, keep the exact model page available and ask the shop to confirm steel, bevel, and after-sales sharpening on the knife in front of you. The logistics are separate from performance; the guide to buying Japanese knives in Japan and bringing them home covers store planning, packing, and checked-baggage rules without pretending that one shopping district determines knife quality.

FAQ

Are Japanese kitchen knives always harder than German knives?

No. In this 14-model comparison, several Japanese-side knives publish 60–62 HRC, but KAI publishes 58 ±1 and four Japanese product pages do not give a model-specific HRC. The German-maker figures run from 56 to 58 or 55–58 where stated, so the samples overlap.

Do German chef’s knives still use a 20-degree edge?

Do not assume so. WÜSTHOF’s current care guide specifies 14° per side for standard blades, ZWILLING gives approximately 15° for honing a standard knife, and F. DICK gives 15–20° for its sharpening steels. These are maker maintenance instructions, not one factory-angle specification for every German model.

Can the same sharpener be used on both types?

Only when the tool suits the knife’s bevel, angle, and maker guidance. A device fixed to the wrong angle can change the existing edge, while a honing steel and a whetstone perform different jobs. Check the individual knife instructions instead of choosing a sharpener by country label.

Is MIYABI a Japanese or German knife brand?

Both descriptions need context. MIYABI belongs to the ZWILLING group, whose official corporate address is in Solingen, Germany, while the KAIZEN II 34681-203 product page says that model is handcrafted in Seki, Japan. For comparison, corporate ownership and the knife’s stated manufacturing location should be listed separately.

Bottom line

Japanese versus German is a useful design question only when it leads to model-level facts. The 14 official pages reviewed here show a Japanese-side sample with more named steel variety and several 60–62 HRC specifications, alongside a German-maker sample concentrated around 56–58 HRC and multiple forged bolster-and-handle structures. They also show exceptions: weight overlaps, angles are often undisclosed, and current German sharpening guidance can be much more acute than an inherited 20-degree rule.

Use steel and HRC to understand the published material, angle to preserve the intended edge, and weight plus construction to judge likely handling. Then match the knife to your board, grip, cutting motion, and maintenance plan. The country label can organize a shortlist; it cannot select the knife for you.

Sources: Shun — Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife DM0706, Shun — Sharpening vs. Honing, KAI — Wasabi Black 6720C, TOJIRO — CLASSIC Chef Knife F-808, TOJIRO — Maintenance, GLOBAL/Yoshikin — G-2, GLOBAL/Yoshikin — How to Handle, ZWILLING/MIYABI — KAIZEN II 34681-203, MAC — MTH-80, Yaxell — RAN 36000, WÜSTHOF — Classic 1040100120, WÜSTHOF — Classic Ikon 1040330120, WÜSTHOF — Sharpening Guide, ZWILLING — Pro 38401-203, ZWILLING — Four Star 31071-203, ZWILLING — Sharpening Guide, ZWILLING — Global Imprint, F. DICK — 1905 Chef’s Knife 81947212, F. DICK — Sharpening Steels, F. DICK — Our Company, Böker — Core Chef’s Knife 130740, Böker — Legal Notice, Güde — Mikarta Chef’s Knife M805/21, Güde — Imprint (all accessed 2026-09-03).